The Validity of Philosophy

If you’ve seen any of my blog posts before you’ll have noticed that my interests ultimately lie in ‘the big picture’; I’m fascinated by things that can never be fully explained, confirmed nor denied. I thought I’d use this post to explore some of the reasons why I think it’s important to consider things that many people dismiss because of their woolly, impossible-to-prove nature.

So, philosophy in my edition of The New Oxford Dictionary of English philosophy is defined as thus:

“The study of the fundamental nature of knowledge, reality and existence…”

What could be more interesting than thinking about the very foundations of our existence, than forming opinions on the meaning of life, what everything comes down to? The word comes from the Ancient Greek word ‘philosophia’ meaning ‘love of wisdom’ and, to me, there is a clear reason why the Greeks considered such a discipline as wisdom.

There are many, many religions in this world and none of them can be proved wrong. None of them ever will be. 79% of the USA profess to have a religion. 76.8% of the UK profess to have a religion. Now, I don’t believe that this is an accurate representation of the population; very few people take their religion seriously and live by its principles, although I can only observe people in my own area. For example, the majority of people within these statistics are Christians but much less attend church. My point is, not all of these people are idiots. I do apologise for my appeal to popularity, but, again, not all of these people have been brought up with a faith. I, for example, have been an atheist, a nihilist, an agnostic and am now a Christian. It’s worth thinking about because almost all people with a philosophically valid faith believe in a consequence for not attempting to find the truth and a beautiful reward for succeeding.

So thinking about it, looking for answers would be

a

wise

choice

indeed.

One thought on “The Validity of Philosophy

Leave a Reply

